Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Government of the Province of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

The Honourable W. J. Patterson, the present Lieutenant-Governor, was commissioned to office July 4, 1951. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 95.

The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 53, elected for a maximum term of five years.

As of Apr. 1, 1953, the Premier receives \$8,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$7,000 annually in addition to the sessional indemnity, while the Leader of the Opposition, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker receive \$4,000, \$2,000 and \$1,000, respectively. The annual salary of a Member of the Legislature is \$2,000 together with an expense allowance of \$1,000.

9.—Legislatures and Premiers of Saskatchewan, 1934-53, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1953 Legislatures, 1934-53:

Date of		Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election			of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June June June June	19, 1934 8, 1938 15, 1944 24, 1948	8th General Assembly. 9th General Assembly. 10th General Assembly. 11th General Assembly.	6 5	Nov. 15, 1934 Jan. 19, 1939 Oct. 19, 1944 Feb. 10, 1949	May 14, 1938 May 10, 1944 May 19, 1948	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-53 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 19, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 1, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson: 8th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1953.

Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 11, 1952: 42 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 11 Liberal.)

Note.—See headnote to Table 3.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development.	Hon. T. C. Douglas	July 10, 1944	Premier and President— July 10, 1944 Co-operation—Nov. 14,
Provincial Treasurer	Hon, C. M. Fines Hon, J. W. Corman Hon, J. H. Brockelbank	July 10, 1944	1949 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Natural Resources— Aug. 4, 1948 Mineral Resources— Apr. 1, 1953
Minister of Highways and Trans- portation	Hon. J. T. Douglas Hon. W. S. Lloyd		July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944
Rehabilitation. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Public Health Minister of Telephones. Provincial Secretary.	Hon. J. H. Sturdy Hon. L. F. McIntosh Hon. C. C. Williams Hon. I. C. Nollet Hon. J. A. Darling Hon. T. J. Bentley Hon. A. G. Kuziak Hon. J. W. Burton	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Feb. 26, 1945 Aug. 4, 1948 Nov. 14, 1949 Oct. 24, 1952	Aug. 4, 1948 Aug. 4, 1948 Aug. 4, 1948 Feb. 26, 1945 Aug. 4, 1948 Nov. 14, 1949 Oct. 24, 1952 Oct. 24, 1952